//
you're reading...
Poetry

When I Die…

When I die,

I don’t want to be buried under bricks and cement

Just a fertile soil and green grasses

I don’t want tomb with religious affiliation

Just simple stuffs, name, RIP, DoB, & DoD

 

When I die,

I would love to share my grave with my loved one(s)

Especially my wife, if I had any by the time I pass

Of course she could refuse to share

And I won’t be alive to painfully know her refusal

 

When I die,

I want people to mourn me

Cry their hearts out as if they couldn’t live without me

I want my funeral to be attended by thousands

Just like Jean-Paul Sartre’s

Also broadcasted and seen by millions

Like Princess Diana’s

That would really make me feel special

(Yeah right, like I would still be able to feel)

 

When I die,

I don’t want to go to heaven

At least not to the so-called “better place”

I don’t need 7 angels, milk river, and golden gate

Nothing is better than being on earth with my loved ones

(I can say that for now…)

 

After death,

I think it’s either I reincarnate or end for good

So pathetic is the idea of heaven, a utopia of those dreamers

Who cannot accept pains and sufferings

 

Death,

An event, inevitable one

And yet we can prepare for it, having this and that in advance

Just to make it extraordinary

 

Like a play,

Death needs a spectacular ending

Precedented by spectacular acts from spectacular actor(s)

I’ve wished for spectacular end, but have I acted spectacularly?

Only the audience can tell

About adhitawakal

A former Philosophy student who aspires to become a professional stylist/fashion editor while cultivating his skills as a public relations/social media practitioner.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

